$6K in Arts Scholarships Awarded to 20 Blue Earth County Youth

PLRAC Arts Grant Awards

Blue Earth County Youth Scholarship Students | Row 1 (L to R): Rebekah Hartwig; Aliyah Dawkins; Anna Freyberg; Lily Follansbee; and Praticha Jagdish. Row 2: Sayontan Roy; Eli Scheidel; Madeleine Stenzel; Isabel Becker; and Kiara Riehl. Row 3: Brenda Byron, PLRAC Executive Director; Alex Liebl; Nikolai Becker; Elaine Adams; Julia Herzberg; and Greg Wilkins, PLRAC Board Member City of Mankato.
“The Prairie Lakes Regional Arts Council is pleased to announce that Youth Scholarships of $23,400 from the Arts and Cultural Heritage Fund, which is funded by the Clean Water, Land & Legacy Amendment, have been awarded to 78 students in grades 7-12 throughout the region. Youth Scholarship recipients live in twenty-two different communities representing nine counties,” noted Brenda Byron, PLRAC Executive Director. “We are excited about the wonderful arts activities these students will be involved in.” The Youth Scholarships of $300 will provide these students the opportunity to study their chosen art with a practicing professional artist by taking lessons over a period of months.

Twenty students in Blue Earth County were awarded $300 scholarships and include: Elaine Adams, Gretchen Adams, Isabel Becker, Nikolai Becker, Lily Follansbee, Anna Freyberg, Rebekah Hartwig, Julia Herzberg, Praticha Jagdish, Kezia Kim, Alex Liebl, Joseph Park, Kiara Riehl, Sayontan Roy, Eli Scheidel, and Avarey Steffensmeier who are from Mankato. Aliyah Dawkins, Megan Lyons, and Madeleine Stenzel reside in Eagle Lake and Michael Thompson is from St. Clair.

Students will be involved in a variety of activities including: dance classes at Center Stage Dance in Montgomery, the Dance Conservatory of Southern MN in Mankato, and Mankato Ballet Company; music lessons at Mankato Suzuki School of Music and New Ulm Suzuki School of Music; participation in Mankato Area 77 Lancers Marching Band; and a variety of music lessons in flute, guitar, piano, violin, and voice from independent instructors. There is one deadline per year for the Youth Scholarships grades 7-12 and the next date is October 1, 2016.

In addition to these scholarships Prairie Lakes awarded $5,000 in scholarships to students in grades 3-6 this year. These scholarships were funded by a grant from the Carl and Verna Schmidt Foundation, Rochester. The twenty-five students that received $200 scholarships were in grades 3-6 and resided in twelve communities in seven different counties; and three were from Blue Earth County. The Youth Scholarships of $200 will provide these students the opportunity to study their chosen art with a practicing professional artist during 2016.

Prairie Lakes provides grants for arts activities including dance, music, theater, literature, and visual art classes and exhibitions. Applications from Non-profit Arts Organizations, Community Groups and Schools will be accepted twice a year and the next Arts & Cultural Heritage deadline is February 1, 2016. Small Arts Project Grants for smaller art activities and Art-In-Education school residences are both available for up to $2,500 and the next deadlines are January 1 and February 1, 2016.

The Prairie Lakes Regional Arts Council is committed to supporting and expanding the arts in the nine-county area; knowing that the Arts improve the quality of life in our region. A monthly newsletter and calendar of arts events in the 9-county area is posted on our website; grant guidelines and applications are available at www.plrac.org. Questions contact: Brenda Byron, Executive Director, at the Prairie Lakes office in Waseca, 1-800-298-1254 or plrac@hickorytech.net. We serve a nine-county area including Blue Earth, Brown, Faribault, LeSueur, Martin, Nicollet, Sibley, Waseca, and Watonwan Counties.